Gluten Free Pizzelle Cookies

IMG_7011

I have had my pizzelle maker for years and today was the first time I decided to try it out and so glad I did!!

I knew the kids have been wanting ice cream. And since it was a warm spring day I decided I wanted to make these delicate waffle cookies and see if I could make them into ice cream cones.

HOWEVER, I guess if you don’t have a cone roller it isn’t that simple — so I improvised instead, LOL!

Nevertheless, while the pizzelles are still hot you can form them into dessert cups, cannoli shapes, or cones and fill them with anything you want.

And depending on the ingredients and method of preparation the cookies can be crispy or soft and chewy.

IMG_7007

Gluten Free Pizzelle Cookies

Ingredients:

4 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-3/4 cups all-purpose gluten free flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
Directions:

Let your pizzelle iron heat up at least 5 to 8 minutes.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs and sugar together until mixed thoroughly. Beat in the butter, and vanilla.

Add the flour and baking powder to your sugar/egg mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until fully incorporated. The batter should be stiff enough to be dropped by spoon or a spring-loaded ice cream scoop.

IMG_7009

Spray a light coating of non-stick spray onto the iron at the beginning to help prevent sticking.

You want to place a tablespoon of batter onto the hot pizzelle iron and bake for 30-45 seconds or until desired crispiness.

IMG_7004

Leave a comment