Gluten Free Korean Beef and Veggies Rice Bowl

Korean Beef and Veggies Rice Bowl | Small Town Living in Nevada

My husband walked into the kitchen from work and immediately said to me, “What are you experimenting on now?” He knows me oh too well. And it doesn’t phase him nor my kids that I am constantly photographing my food before I join them for a meal.

Nevertheless, I bought 5 pounds of hamburger and ziploc bagged 1 pound bags of hamburger. I set aside a pound to make dinner but wanted to make something different with the meat, not your usual Cheeseburgers or Meat Loaf.

I came across a recipe for Korean Beef and was like, yeah that looks good, but noticed there wasn’t any vegetables included. Well that has NEVER stopped me before; wasn’t gonna stop me now. I grabbed practically the last of my string beans from my garden and some organic carrots out of the fridge and diced them up to add to my adapted Korean Beef dish for dinner.

Well as everyone was enjoying dinner, my husband says, “This is really good!” And my daughter had 3 helpings because she thought it was delicious! I would say that is a dinner success!

Korean Beef and Veggies Rice Bowl

5 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
    1/4 cup gluten free tamari sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
    3 teaspoons garlic, minced
    1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
    1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
    1 bunch green onions, diced
  • 3 Organic Carrots, diced & cooked
  • Handful String Beans, diced & cooked
  • Rice, cooked
Directions:
  1. In a small bowl, whisk together brown sugar, soy sauce, sesame oil, red pepper flakes, garlic and ginger.
  2. Heat a large skillet or wok over medium high heat. Add ground beef and cook until browned, about 3-5 minutes, making sure to crumble the beef as it cooks; drain excess fat. Stir in soy sauce mixture and green onions until well combined, allowing to simmer until heated through, about 10 minutes.
  3. Add cooked carrots and string beans to meat mixture and mix until well combined.
  4. Serve immediately with rice.

Adapted from Six Sisters’ Stuff

Leave a Reply

