Kids Halloween Party

Having fun | Small Town Living in Nevada


Last week I hosted a kids Halloween Party at my house and have to say I was a little stressed over it even though it was Potluck. The reason is I have a small home and a large backyard. In Nevada where I live, the weather can be hit or miss… the saying is “Wait 5 minutes and the weather will change.”

Nevertheless, I wanted to host an outdoor party and was stressing on how the weather would fair that Saturday. Luckily, the weather turned out perfect. However, the next day was horrible, cold and windy. So I truly lucked out.

Since we were going to be outside, I went the minimalist route for decorating. And the dollar store AND Walmart were my main stops for decorations, my true friends for the event.

A year ago June, I made an outdoor buffet table from pallets laying around the backyard. I have to say it is one of the best things I have ever made. I can’t tell you how many times I have used it for BBQ’s, birthdays and now I can say for a Halloween Party.

I decked it out with cobweb, a festive plastic tablecloth and then waited for all the guests to start arriving with their food they were contributing.

Pallet Buffet Table | Small Town Living in Nevada


Since the weather was nice the kids enjoyed playing on the Trampoline and the swingset… as well as playing with the cornhole board that I borrowed, and a bowling sent. I even put together a craft table so the kids could make cut-outs and just have another level of fun. But they thought the tire swing was THE BEST thing since sliced bread, LOL!

Tire Swing | Small Town Living in Nevada

But it made me happy at how much fun all the kiddos had… and was thrilled with all the food the parents contributed even though I supplied the main dish of ghoulish hot dogs and condiments. AND one of my friends made Gluten Free Cake Pops cause she didn’t want the kids and I to miss out on the desserts!! Now how cool is she!?

Kids & Food | Small Town Living in Nevada

Crafts Table | Small Town Living in Nevada

Crafts made at the craft table…

Kids & Food | Small Town Living in Nevada

I placed an extension cord outside and placed all the hot dogs in the crockpot with hot water so no one had cold dogs.

All in all it was a great turn out and the kids and adults alike had fun. I call that a success!

Having fun | Small Town Living in Nevada

IMG_2053

2 thoughts on “Kids Halloween Party

Leave a Reply

