Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts

Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts | Small Town Living in Nevada

I have been baking non-stop for HOURS and all so my kids can contribute to their Halloween parties at school. I made my daughter Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting and my younger son Brownie cupcakes topped with the leftover Cream Cheese Frosting. They came out quite cute, but my favorites was making the Pumpkin Doughnuts.

I came across this pumpkin doughnut recipe on Pinterest and couldn’t wait to get doughnut pans . My mom surprised me a few weeks back with pans so I couldn’t wait to get started on trying different doughnuts especially since doughnuts are one of several foods I quite miss about living a gluten free lifestyle. Well, not any more!

The original recipe calls for a Cinnamon Sugar dusting and while that is fine and dandy I went a step farther and just glazed them instead.

This is one tasty doughnut… it is kid, husband and of course approved by me as well!

Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/2 cups gluten free flour
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum (omit if using an all purpose flour that has xanthan gum)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 (15-oz) can pumpkin
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • cooking spray

Glaze (Dairy Free )

  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • Candied Sprinkles (Optional)

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Lightly spray doughnut pans with cooking spray and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, brown sugar, white sugar, baking soda, xanthan gum, sea salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts | Small Town Living in Nevada

Add in the eggs, oil, pumpkin and vanilla. Beat well for two minutes. The batter will be smooth and a little sticky.

Pumpkin Doughnut Batter

Pipe the batter into the doughnut pan, filling wells 1/2 full. Smooth the tops if needed. Bake on the top rack 12-15 minutes, until firm yet slightly springy to the touch.

When the doughnuts are cool enough to handle, loosen the sides and remove from the pan. Place the doughnuts on a cooling rack.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts | Small Town Living in Nevada

Mix together in a medium sized bowl the powdered sugar and almond milk and set aside.

Glaze

Dip doughnuts in your prepared glaze – add sprinkles if you wish. Place them back on the cooling rack and allow the glaze to set for a few minutes.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts | Small Town Living in Nevada

Repeat the process for the remaining batter and glaze. Makes approximately 15 regular sized doughnuts.

Adapted from Food by Teva

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pumpkin Doughnuts

    • Honestly, I LOVE Teff flour and have been using it in my flour mixture. It has a high protein which is great for springiness. I make my own blend of flour though. Yet it changes all the time depending on what I like at the moment. But I have been using Teff Flour. Brown Rice Flour, White Rice Flour, Tapioca all mixed together in a HUGE jar I keep in the pantry.

      Like

Leave a Reply

