Sierra Gourmet Grill – Restaurant Review

Sierra Gourmet Grill Sign

From the road Sierra Gourmet Grill looks like a little house set back among a huge parking lot yet when you step inside the restaurant is quaint and rustic with prompt service.

Dining RoomOnce inside my husband and I were instantly greeted by Kevin who was standing behind the bar. Since the restaurant wasn’t crowded we were able to handpick our table. I was drawn to their picnic table and asked to be seated there. Unfortunately my husband who is 6’4” and had back surgery a year ago couldn’t get quite comfortable in the table so we eventually asked if we could move.

Without a blink of an eye, Kevin moved us to a more comfortable spot so my husband could have a regular chair with some back support. If you have any back issues, I would suggest not being seated at their very beautiful picnic table. In fact, all their tables were beautiful. According to their website, the tables and bar top are cedar plants made from repurposed trees from the Angora fire that occurred in South Lake Tahoe just up the Mountain.

Salad MenuWhat the little restaurant lacks in seating, it makes up with BIG flavor through their food! The menu choices were very appealing from sandwiches and burgers to steaks, chicken and seafood. And an added bonus they have a kids menu as well.

The Owner / Chef Larry Rice came out and introduced himself to my husband and I. He informed me that almost all their menu items excluding their Regular Breads were gluten free and this included all their rubs and sauces. Additionally, they did give the option of gluten free bread if you wanted a sandwich. Loved that since I rarely get to eat a sandwich when at a restaurant! Down side, not one of their desserts were gluten free, unfortunately.

Ribeye MenuNevertheless, I ordered their 10 oz Ribeye – a hand sliced steak, seasoned with their Award-Winning Santa Maria Dry Rub, flamed grilled over high heat and served with your choice of one of their signature sides, a salad and BBQ bread (Which isn’t Gluten Free).  I had a choice of regular or locally grown. It was a no brainer, I went with their cut that came from Bently Ranch a local farm up the road in Minden. Who could pass up beef that is Dry Aged, Certified Natural, Grass Fed, and Certified Hormone Free? Nevertheless, I was quite happy with my decision. I chose their Smashed Garlic Red Potatoes and their Lavender Caesar.

Lavender Caesar SaladI love caesar salads – they are one of my favorites so I couldn’t wait to try their Lavender Caesar. It was made from chopped Romaine Lettuce with a hint of Lavender flower, Parmesan cheese & their homemade caesar dressing. I have to say the dressing was very light and refreshing and I really enjoyed the hint of Lavender. However, every once in awhile I would have a HUGE burst of Lavender which was really lovely.

The Smashed Garlic Red Potatoes were awesome and I would recommend everyone to try these before getting their rice as your side.

Bently RibeyeThe meat was tender and lean. There wasn’t a lot of marbling, but the meat still had a great deal of flavor. It was nicely grilled and the little hint of barbecue sauce that was on my plate paired nicely with the steak.  Needless to say, my plate was very clean when Kevin took my plate away!

Halibut balsamic glazeMy husband went with their Halibut with a Balsamic Glaze, Smashed Garlic Red Potatoes and their Lavender Caesar.  Of course I had to sample his Halibut. Oh my how wonderful his fish was. It was crispy on the outside and very moist, tender and flaky on the inside. The glaze was sweet like a teriyaki and very tasty. Lets just say he loved his dish and I only was given that one bite, LOL!

When Kevin brought out our meals we knew we were in for a delicious dinner and a wonderful dinner we had!

Blueberry PieWhile I couldn’t partake in dessert, my husband ordered a slice of their Blueberry Pie. From what I was told the pie came from a local baker. My husband said it was heavenly with chunks of blueberries inside as well as large whole blueberries placed on his plate.

All in all our experience was very enjoyable. Larry and Kevin were fabulous and the food was sensational. If you would like to try out Sierra Gourmet Grill for yourself go to:

Sierra Gourmet GrillSierra Gourmet Grill
1378 U.S. Hwy 395 N (Across from Raley’s Supermarket)
Gardnerville, NV 89410

http://www.sierragourmetgrill.com

Call 775-392-2370 for reservations especially on a Friday or Saturday.

They are open Monday through Saturday
Lunch from 11:30am to 2:00pm
Dinner from 4:30pm to 9:00pm


*** Disclaimer: I received 2 free meals from Sierra Gourmet Grill. I am not required to write a positive review and all opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

