Where not to eat in Alexandria, VA

Last night we took the ferry ride to Alexandria, VA and thought we would be able to visit all the cute little shops. Well how mistaken were we. It started to rain and rain and rain and then rained even some more! I had to buy an overpriced umbrella to stay somewhat dry even though my shoes and socks were a different soggy story.

Two places down from where I purchased my umbrella was Pizzeria Paradiso. Our friends took refuge there because 1. our friends were hungry and 2. since being indoors kept you warm and dry. Nevertheless, we decided it was a very good idea especially since our phones all went off alerting us of flash floods in the area till 11:30pm.

I ordered a nice hot cup of tea to warm up with when I noticed on Pizzeria Paradiso’s menu it stated they had homemade gluten free 9” crust for an extra $2. Not pre-made, cool!!!  Now that really sounded great and prompted us to place an order for their Blanca Pizza which consisted of White Sauce, Roasted Cherry Tomatos, Baby Arugula, Basil, and Speck (very thinly sliced smoked prosciutto). I asked for them to put the Speck on only 1/2 the pizza since my husband is allergic to msg and sodium nitrates.

OMG, when it was delivered to our table it was beautiful!

Pizza Paradiso Blanca Gluten Free Pizza

Yet it was so deceiving. After one bite it was the worst pizza dough I have ever eaten. I mean I have made pizza dough from scratch before and it was WAY BETTER than this. I ended up scraping the toppings off and leaving the crust. And I will say I begrudgingly paid the $16 for this pizza. I just can’t express how bad it was. Even my husband couldn’t eat it beyond a bite.

And then there was our friends, oohing and awing over their pizza. Saying wow this is the best crust ever! Well I guess Pizzeria Paradiso knows how to make gluten riddled dough, but clearly needs to keep working on their recipe for their gluten free dough.

If you are NOT gluten intolerant, Pizzeria Paradiso is the place for you. Otherwise, stay very far, far away from this pizza joint if you can’t eat gluten it isn’t worth your time, money or taste-buds when visiting Alexandria Virginia.

Pizzeria Paradiso
124 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-837-1245
http://www.eatyourpizza.com

Leave a Reply

