OtterBox is the best way to go to protect your Cell Phone or iPad

Back in January I brought my iPad to the Dentist office. Yeah, not for a check up, but to keep my youngest occupied since it was his first Dentist visit.

As the receptionist called our names and we were walking towards the hygienist, my son dropped my iPad (by accident) on to the tile floor. I instantly heard the glass break. I think my heart stopped for a second and I most likely gasped. As I picked the iPad up off the floor I instantly saw that the screen was shattered. I touched it to see how bad the shattering was and unfortunately cut my finger.

Shattered iPad Screen
Since, the hygienist didn’t offer me a bandaid, I had to sit there in the dental chair while they cleaned my teeth all the while with glass stuck in my bleeding finger. Wonderful, huh?

Anyhow, once I got home I fixed my finger, yet would take months to get my iPad fixed. I needed  the app on it to help my daughter to sell Girl Scout Cookies. The app was to keep track of her sales basically.

So I placed the iPad into a gallon sized ziploc bag and used it as normal. Unfortunately, a cracked was across the lens area so I was unable to use the camera. Eh, no big deal.


I have a bad habit of dropping my iPhone a lot. I have actually drop-kicked it by accident once and prayed it was ok. So if my phone is like a cat, I was running out of lives and didn’t want to see what would happen if I waited too long. Right after I broke my iPad I went on Groupons and bought my iPhone an OtterBox Defender Series Case. It is AWESOME. And I am not afraid to drop my iPhone cause I know it is protected through the OtterBox’s multilayer shock absorbent technology. I have to say getting the OtterBox for my phone was the best decision I had made.

IMG_4084 IMG_4085

Now I did I try searching for a case for my iPad, but was unable to find one on Groupons so I contacted OtterBox directly many months later. Yeah, fast forward almost 5 months later cause I just got lazy by that point… Nevertheless, I started calling local businesses to see the pricing on fixing my screen and couldn’t believe how expensive it would be to fix the iPad here in my little town. My brother lives in the Bay Area and told me he could get it fixed for half the price. So the last time my parents were in town at the end of May, I gave it to them to hand off to my brother.

While my iPad was getting fixed — I was able to purchase a Defender Series iPad OtterBox for an exceptionally discounted price through Logan at OtterBox! He was so helpful and just made my day!

I was going on vacation with my parents this past week and was going to get my iPad back all nice a brand new-ish. Once it was handed to me, I placed it in the OtterBox.

This case was again from The Defender Series which has a multilayer technology to give you a solid protective encasement. The case’s inner shell protects through shock absorption and also protects the back of your iPad from scratches. While the rugged silicone outer-layer absorbs impact from bumps and shocks while the textured exterior provides enhanced grip. There is also a built-in screen protector to help prevent scratches, smudges and fingerprints from getting on your screen.

I am not too keen on is the shield stand. While it does act as an extra protective cover on the front or the back it does double as a kickstand when removed. I do wish the kickstand was all in one and not removable.

IMG_4080 IMG_4081

I have to say the OtterBox is top notch. I had my iPad back literally for 3 days when one morning while sitting on the nightstand charging, my daughter came into the room and stumbled on the cord. She knocked the iPad (encased in the OtterBox) off the nightstand and onto the hardwood floor. Lets just say I had a flashback to January and literally screamed at my daughter to be more careful. Yet to my surprise, my iPad was unharmed, thankfully!

I was amazed at how durable the OtterBox held up from a 3 foot fall to a hard floor surface.

And because of that I would totally recommend anyone to get an OtterBox if they have an iPad or even a cell phone that needs to be protected.

If you are interested in purchasing an OtterBox, you can get Cases at: http://www.otterbox.com

*** Disclaimer: I received the iPad OtterBox at a discount from OtterBox. I am not required to write a positive review. And all opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

