Toast with Broiled Cheese, Avocado and Tomato

Broiled Cheese with Avocado and Tomato | Small Town Living in Nevada

Years ago when I lived in Tahoe I worked across the street from a bagel shop and would frequent there quite often. One of my favorites from the shop was an everything bagel smothered with garlic cream cheese then topped with slices of tomato and avocado covered with melted havarti cheese and sprinkled with Garlic Pepper. This was my go to breakfast in the morning.

However, it was pricy eating out everyday. SOOOOOOO, I decided I could make it myself — and boy how easy it was.

Now fast forward 10+ years and throw in being gluten intolerant… and you have gluten free bread instead of an everything bagel. I tend to use what I have on hand at home to make my broiled breakfast than go out of my way to get every ingredient.

I always seem to have provolone cheese on hand and there was leftover diced tomatoes from tacos the other night in the refrigerator so that is what I used but by all means go ahead and use freshly sliced tomatoes or whatever cheese you prefer.

First I always toast my bread since I like it crunchy and not soggy when I am eating.

Next I take two The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss wedges and spread one on each slice of toast.

Top with a layer tomatoes and then a layer of avocado slices.

Broiled Cheese with Avocado and Tomato | Small Town Living in Nevada  Broiled Cheese with Avocado and Tomato | Small Town Living in Nevada

Sprinkle with a generous amount or to taste of Garlic Pepper and then top with Cheese.

Place under broiler for a couple of minutes or until cheese is golden brown.

Broiled Cheese with Avocado and Tomato 3

Broiled Cheese with Avocado and Tomato Toast

1 serving

  • 2 slices gluten free bread
  • 1 small avocado, pitted, skinned and sliced
  • 1 small tomato, sliced
  • 2 slices provolone cheese
  • 2 The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss spreadable cheese wedges
  • Garlic Pepper, to taste

Turn broiler on high.

Lightly toast bread in Toaster.

Spread toast slices with The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss spreadable cheese wedges

Next layer with sliced of Tomatoes and Avocados then Provolone Cheese.

Broil until golden brown, watching carefully.

Leave a Reply

