Gluten Free Loco Moco – a Hawaiian specialty

While we were over in Maui, my husband kept seeing Loco Moco on various restaurant menus. He finally indulged and ordered Loco Moco even through he isn’t a huge fan of gravy and was splendidly surprised at how tasty the meal was.

Loco Moco is a hawaiian meal said to originated back in the the 1940s in Hilo, Hawaii. While there are many variations, the traditional loco moco consists of white rice, topped with a hamburger patty, a fried egg, and smothered in brown gravy.

My husband asked for Loco Moco for dinner a few nights after coming home from Maui. And since it sounded fairly simple I decided to try and recreate this Hawaiian meal for the family.

While I was at Walmart, I noticed they had a Gluten Free Brown Gravy Packet by Pioneer Brand. I bought a couple of packets to try out with my Loco Moco recipe and was quite happy with the taste. Now normally I would probably make my gravy from scratch, but I really wanted to try the packet out to see how it was and happy that I did. It made the prep work quicker.

Gluten Free Loco Moco | Small Town Living in Nevada

Sounds like I might be making this more often. My husband, kids and parents said they really liked it. A Win Win I say!

Gluten Free Loco Moco

1 serving

  • 1 (1/4 pound) Hamburger patty (not lean)
  • 1/2 tsp Seasoned Salt
  • 1/3 cup gluten free brown gravy (I used Pioneer Brand Gluten Free Brown Gravy Mix)
  • 2 eggs, cooked sunny side up
  • 1 cup cooked white rice

Take a cast-iron pan and heat over medium-high heat. Place the patty in the pan covered with a lid to seal in the moisture and ensure juicy patties. Cook until well browned on first side, 3 minutes. Then remove the lid, flip over, replace the lid and continue cooking to desired doneness, about 3 more minutes. Remove the burger and keep warm.

Make gravy according to packet.

For the eggs: Add a little of the burger grease to a nonstick sauté pan over medium heat. Crack in the eggs and cook sunny-side up, 3 to 4 minutes.

To assemble, place cooked rice on a plate, place the burgers on top, then the gravy and finally topped with eggs.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Loco Moco – a Hawaiian specialty

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Homemade Beef Gravy | Small Town Living in Nevada

Leave a Reply

