Maui’s Star Noodle – Restaurant Review

Star Noodle Sign

Since this was my first time to Maui I researched the restaurants that were going to be the best at accommodating my gluten free needs as well as where locals dine at. One restaurant that stood out was Star★Noodle.

Gluten Free Pad Thai Noodles

Gluten Free Pad Thai Noodles

Way off the main drag in the industrial park area you will find this hidden Asian Noodle House. It’s a trendy little place which displays a large communal table in the center of the room, a bar area for those who like to eat at the counter as well as smaller table tops around the restaurant.

This is not a place you want to just walk into… reservations are a must and I learned that the hard way. As we arrived there were a lot of people waiting to be seated. When I was finally able to ask how long the wait would be I was told an hour and a half. Well, at that point we left to eat somewhere else. However, we did make reservations for the next night learning from our mistake.

When we arrived at Star★Noodle the following night there were five of us excited by the abundance of food choices on the menu. AND, Think large plates — the ones made for sharing as in family style. The hostess was friendly and very accommodating for my party. She eagerly pointed out what was gluten free on the menu before I was even in my seat. Unfortunately, I quickly forgot half of what was told to me and needed help with jarring my memory.

When our waitress promptly showed up I asked again what were the Gluten Free items and she was more than helpful to point out what I could eat. This time I paid very close attention to what was being told to me as I was firmly planted in my seat.

Since there were five of us dining we ordered Pad Thai Noodles, Singapore Noodles, and Vietnamese Crepe as our Gluten Free items (the other items — Steamed Pork Buns, Hapa Ramen and Kim Chee Ramen — were not Gluten Free and I wasn’t able to partake, however I was told they were really tasty and of course from my view they looked wonderful).

The Pad Thai consisted of Rice Noodles, Chicken, Shrimp, Egg, Peanuts, and Garlic Chives. It was mild in flavor but had impressively huge shrimp which were perfect and tender and a real treat.

Gluten Free Vietnamese Crepe

Gluten Free Vietnamese Crepe

The Vietnamese Crepe consisted of ground pork sprinkled with small shrimp and bean sprouts laid with in a fried Crepe accompanied by fresh butter lettuce leaves, sprigs of mint, cilantro, basil and carrots. A very aromatic Nuoc Cham dipping sauce came on the side and was a wonderful addition to drizzle on your lettuce wrap or crepe taco which ever way you decided to build your meal. This dish was extremely flavorful and a little messy but totally worth the effort.

Next I tried the Singapore Noodles which were Vermicelli noodles, Chicken, luscious Shrimp, and Vegetables. It had a mild curry aroma which was quite flavorful and all around scrumptious.

All in all if you would like a great restaurant that is pleasing on the palate than Star★Noodle is the restaurant you need to stop at the next time you are in Maui! Definitely 5-star in my opinion.

Gluten Free Singapore Noodles

Gluten Free Singapore Noodles

Star★Noodle
286 Kupuohi St.
Lahaina, Hawaii, 96761
United States

Phone: 808-667–5400

Website: www.starnoodle.com

Leave a Reply

