Gluten Free Mild Enchilada Sauce

Cheese and Onion Enchiladas | Small Town Living in Nevada

I love Mexican food just as much as I love Asian food. That means I like it A LOT!

I can’t even tell you the last time I bought store bought enchilada sauce. My husband doesn’t like the canned stuff at all so I started making my own years ago. Now I prefer Sour Cream Enchilada Sauce but I have to mix it up every once in awhile with a tomato sauce. And of course I try different versions every once in awhile as well.

Anyhow, you won’t want canned enchilada sauce again after making this easy homemade version!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup gluten free flour
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon dried chopped onions
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

IMG_0659

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat vegetable oil in a saucepan over medium high heat. Whisk in flour until well combined, about 1 minute.
  2. Stir in tomatoes, chili powder, oregano, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, brown sugar, salt and pepper, to taste. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until thickened, about 10-15 minutes.
  3. Take a hand emulsifier to liquify the tomato chunks to make a smoother sauce otherwise you can leave as is.

Adapted from Damn Delicious

Leave a Reply

