Crockpot Turkey Bone Broth

I made a Roasted Turkey the other night and as usual I made a Turkey Bone Broth. Since my family has a food sensitivity to chicken I never use chicken broth let alone make chicken for that matter. And of course Turkey broth is a little hard to find at the store in my area.

So I make Turkey Bone Broth every time I Roast a Turkey which is about 3-4 times a year. I then place the broth into jars and stick them in the basket of my deep freezer for later usage for recipes or soups.

Making bone broth is extremely easy if you have a crockpot. I usually take poultry shears to the Turkey bones, but this bird was a large one and I ended up needing a hammer to expose the marrow. So I placed the bones in a  gallon ziploc and whacked the bones a few times. I then threw the bones, whatever meat was attached and some turkey skin into the crockpot. Next I filled the crockpot with water to almost the top and then placed the lid on and cranked it up! The longer you slow cook the broth, the more your turkey flavor will shine through. I wanted 20 hours on the crockpot, but mine only goes to 10 — so after 10 hours I reset the crockpot for another 10 hours for a total of 20 hours or cooking.

Turkey Bone Broth | Small Town Living in Nevada

Turkey Bone Broth

Ingredients

  • Turkey carcass of a 23 lb bird (with some attached meat and skin)
  • 20 cups of water (or until crockpot is almost full)

Break carcass bones open to expose marrow. Then add carcass to crockpot. Fill crockpot with water cover and cook on low for 20 hours. If the level has evaporated too much add more water over the course of the cooking.

Once done. Strain out bones. Can, and freeze for later use.

Turkey Bone Broth | Small Town Living in Nevada

Leave a Reply

