Stabilized Whipped Cream Frosting

Starting at the end of January til the 2nd week of Feb, my family celebrates three birthdays one after another! Both my son’s and then followed by my birthday. My daughter’s b-day is in November and my husband’s birthday is in December. So from November through February I call it birthday season!! Thank goodness birthday season is coming to an end and life as we know it will be back to normal… cause you know what — all those birthdays revolve around Christmas — so it is just one thing after another. Time for a long rejuvenating nap, please!

I have never made stabilized whipped cream frosting before and decided to finally give it a try. Especially since my husband over the course of 17 years has always been a fan of whipped cream frosting and well me a total buttercream frosting kinda gal. However, if I am making the cake it is gonna be buttercream so I have never made a whipped cream frosting until today. And I have to say it was fairly simple to make!

Stabilized Whipped Cream Ingredients

The technique I’m using uses unflavored gelatin. Which is a very simple stabilizer for the cream and, unlike some other methods, doesn’t change the taste or color of your whipped cream at all.

The whipped cream really firms up nicely and you can actually pipe it and it won’t sag or weep. I was able to use my trusty Wilton decorating piping tips and the frosting stood up beautifully!

Stabilized Whipped Cream Frosting

Stabilized Whipped Cream

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon unflavored gelatin
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 3 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar

Instructions:

In a small pan, combine gelatin and cold water; let stand until thick.
Place over low heat, stirring constantly, just until the gelatin dissolves.
Remove from heat; cool (do not allow it to set).
Whip the cream with the confectioner’s sugar, until slightly thick.
While slowly beating, add the gelatin to whipping cream.
Whip at high speed until stiff.

Makes about 6 cups of whipped cream to frost a small cake.

Stabilized Whipped Cream Cake

Adapted from Food.com

Leave a Reply

