Roasted Turkey with Sage and Rosemary

Thanksgiving all over again….

Being out of town for Thanksgiving is great and bad all rolled into one. Great because I get to see family and relax more. Bad because I don’t get to have leftovers in my fridge. Sooooooooo, I decided to make a Roasted Turkey with all the fixings for our Sunday dinner. And it literally felt like I was putting on a Thanksgiving. I over indulged on the dark meat. The sink was filled with dirty dishes and everyone at my table was stuffed from the wonderful spread.

After I picked all the meat off the bones… I cracked the bones open and am making Bone Broth to can and store in the freezer for later use. Yes, I have been busy in the kitchen today!

Roasted Turkey Dinner | Small Town Living in Nevada

Menu

Roasted Turkey
Green Jello Salad
Brown Sugar Carrots
Mashed Potatoes
Caesar Salad

The turkey came out extremely moist!! It was perfect – plain and simple. I preheated the oven to 325º F placed my Raw 10.5 pound Turkey in a Turkey Roaster with a dome lid for an hour and 15 minutes, then removed the lid and baked the turkey for another 1.5 hours. I basted the turkey twice in the 2-3/4 hours I baked it.

Roasted Turkey | Small Town Living in Nevada

Roasted Turkey with Sage and Rosemary

  • 10.5 pound Turkey
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • Sage
  • Rosemary

Take your butter stick and cut in half. Throw 1/2 a stick of butter into the cavity of the bird with a good, liberal sprinkle of sage and rosemary. Take the other 1/2 of the butter and place into a microwave safe bowl with more sage and rosemary. Place in the microwave for 45 seconds or until melted. Stir to combine and brush all over the top of your turkey.

Put the turkey on a rack in a large covered roasting pan, and into the oven and bake at 325° for 2-3/4 hrs or until a meat thermometer reads 170° for the turkey.  After 1 hr remove the lid, baste the turkey, return to the oven leaving the lid off to let the heat crisp the skin for the next 1.5 hours.

Leave a Reply

