So, soooooo busy….

Gluten Free Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

Gluten Free Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

This week has been crazy and it is only Wednesday! I have been swamped with chores galore. I volunteer at my kids school on Wednesdays and Thursdays. I still have laundry on the couch that needs to be folded and dishes in the sink from making halloween party treats for my kids classes. And then, my kids have friday off since it is “Nevada Day.”

Since Nevada became a state (admitted to the Union) on October 31, 1864, and since legislature wanted to celebrate Nevada Day on the “last” Friday in October… Nevada Day falls on the “actual” Oct 31st – therefore my kids do not have school on Halloween this year.

But Nevada day is a big too do this year since the state is celebrating the 150th anniversary of Nevada’s statehood. Thousands come out to the state capital to watch the parade and celebrate. But it is more than just a parade, it is Nevada’s Heritage Celebration, a gathering of community spirit and a salute our state’s past while looking ahead to our state’s future.

Because there isn’t any school on halloween this year, my kids school parties and dress up fall on Thursday (tomorrow) instead.

Gluten Free Brownies | Small Town Living in Nevada

Gluten Free Brownies

Having three kids in school – Pre-school, Kindergarten and 2nd Grade… I find myself having to make several food offerings.

My daughter’s class said they are having a breakfast party — so I will be making two dozen Gluten Free Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting and since it is Halloween, I will throw a few candy corns on top.

My youngest’s class I have to make brownies (Gluten Free of course) to bring in. Not certain if I will top those off with anything. But the Hershey’s Chocolate Spread keeps popping in to my head as a great topper even though I had already put white chocolate chips into the batter. I don’t buy Nutella since my husband and I are allergic to hazelnuts and the Hershey’s Spread are basically similar but one of their flavors is made with almonds instead of hazelnuts. So win!

And then I really got off easy for my older son’s class. Since he can’t partake in having the regular cupcakes all I have to bring in is a Gluten Free Cupcake for him. Score! One less thing for me to make. What I normally do is make a batch of gluten free cupcakes, freeze them in a ziploc bag — and pull them out when needed for a class function — thaw them out over night then all I need to do is frost it right before the kids head off to school. Life is so much simpler that way!

Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcake

Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcake

Leave a Reply

