Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Waffles

Waffle_PeanutButter

After I came home from volunteering in my older son’s class at school today I made my younger son and I Gluten Free Peanut Butter chocolate chip waffles topped with syrup and plum jelly for lunch.

I had made a waffle for my older son earlier that day because there was a birthday celebration for a classmate that brought waffles as her treat. Of course my kids can’t participate in class treats since most things brought in are riddled with gluten. So I made him a Gluten Free Waffle so he wouldn’t be left out on the celebration.

Well that afternoon, the younger one said he wanted a PB&J sandwich and I suggested a PB&J waffle instead. Sounded like a good idea since I had mix leftover. Why have it go to waste, right?

So I added peanut butter to the mix and then baked the mixture on my belgian waffle maker.

81xgeejUBEL._SL1500_I had never tried Hodgson Mill’s Gluten Free Pancake & Waffle Mix before and was eager to open the package I was graciously given. I couldn’t wait to taste how it turned out especially since it was a Non GMO product as well.

I was happily surprised to see the mix was made with whole grains and didn’t have any sugars or sweeteners added to the ingredients. The waffles I made with this mix were good. A little drier – but probably cause I added a thick peanut butter — and nothing syrup and jelly couldn’t fix. The taste was nice with a slight nutty flavor.  And the texture was perfect, too. Even my kids liked them which was a bonus.

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Waffles

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups Hodgson Mill’s Gluten Free Pancake & Waffle Mix*
1 Cup Milk
1 Egg
3 Tbsp Oil
1 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp peanut butter, smooth
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Syrup to taste
Jelly to Taste

Place Hodgson Mill’s Gluten Free Pancake & Waffle Mix with Milk, egg, oil, sugar and peanut butter. Mix until smooth. Add chips and fold in.

Pour into a preheated waffle iron. Bake 6-8 minutes until golden.

* Mix ingredients: Whole Grain Sorghum Flour, Brown Rice Flour, Milled Flax Seed, GDL, Corn Starch, Sodium Bicarbonate, Xanthan Gum, Flake Salt.
One thought on “Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Waffles

Leave a Reply

