Sushi craving….

My daughter suggested I make sushi for dinner tonight sometime last week since my parents were going to be in town. I LOVE SUSHI! She knew there was no way I would say no. Sushi is rather easy to make — but the prep work is what gets you. Since my family loves the specialty rolls you find at Sushi Restaurants it means we no longer can eat out. Imitation Crab is filled with Wheat. Tempura Shrimp or Tempura Rolls in general are Wheat and therefore a no no for our Gluten Intolerance. But no worries I make really great rolls at home. I spent hours on the perping. I made three batches of sticky rice in my rice cooker than added seasoning to give it that yummy sushi flavor.

Then I sliced cucumbers, avocados and green onions. I used salmon, shrimp and fresh crab for my fillings.

I made several sauces to drizzle on the rolls which included Teriyaki, Unagi and Yum Yum.

Sushi Rice:

Ingredients

1.5 cups sushi or short grain rice
3 cups water, plus extra for rinsing rice
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions Place the rice into a mixing bowl and cover with cool water. Swirl the rice in the water, pour off and repeat 2 to 3 times or until the water is clear. Place the rice and 3 cups of water into a rice cooker and cook according to your machine. Combine the rice vinegar, sugar and salt in a small bowl and heat in the microwave on high for 45 to 60 seconds. Transfer the rice into a large wooden or glass mixing bowl and add the vinegar mixture. Fold thoroughly to combine and coat each grain of rice with the mixture. Allow to cool to room temperature before using to make sushi.

IMG_7901 AvocadoCucumber

IMG_7905

IMG_7909

IMG_7907

Sushi2

Leave a Reply

