Turkey Meat Loaf

Originally written on June 29, 2014

So tonight I decided to make an american classic — Meat Loaf… something I don’t make very often at all… but when I do, I always have to have 2 helpings! I am paring it with a side of rice and fresh zucchini.

Meatloaf

Meat Loaf

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef, ground turkey or a mixture of both (here I have used ground turkey)
1-1/4 teaspoons himalayan salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cracked pepper
1/2 cup chopped onion – fresh or dried
1 egg
8 ounces canned Italian Stewed tomatoes with juice
1/2 cup gluten free oats
2 large carrots, shredded

Topping:
Gluten Free BBQ sauce – I used Kinders BBQ Mild BBQ Sauce

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Mix all meatloaf ingredients well and place in a baking dish. Shape into a loaf.

Bake for 1 hour.

Adapted from http://www.foodnetwork.com/chefs/paula-deen.html

Leave a Reply

